Thinking of using Instant Messenger for a class?

Having used instant messenging with work colleagues and particularly fellow researchers for years I have been thinking of using the medium for interacting with students in my classes. I was therefore interested in ‘The Professor as Instant Messenger’ article by Kathryn Wymer in the Chronicle of Higher Ed. She ran into unexpected reluctance from most of the students.

I did use Microsoft Instant Messenger (IM) briefly in a class a couple of years ago near the final assignment deadline. Only about 20% of the class used IM and most of those had embarassing user names as reported by Kathryn. However I did have several most useful interchanges where I helped students with coding tips. The only snag was these instant chats usually occurred after 10 pm at night when I had accidentally left myself logged in beyond ‘office hours’ with my special class IM account!

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

Comments are closed.

