Blooks – something for aspiring bloggers

Once more I have discovered another new word to do with blogging that has been around for a few months but has passed me by. It was only when reading a BBC News blog entry a couple of days ago, US Cook Wins Blogging Book Prize, that I discovered ‘blooks’. According to Wikipedia definition a ‘blook is a book serialized on a blog site’ and it may be subsequently published as a printed book.

This idea is a natural follow-on for my New Year’s resolution to turn this blog into a professional diary and logbook. What better than to incorporate a favourite topic and structure it as a well thought out serialisation in book-like form. Using the category tags in this WordPress blog you could devote one category per blook, or indeed, start a new blog for each blook.

As a small postscript I must mention the Lulu Blooker Prize, a lovely play on words. As a coincidence I am seriously thinking of using the self-publishing web site Lulu to publish the text of The Book of Handy Hints a book project with Ron Bateman and myself that languished some time ago due to Dot Bateman’s serious illness.

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

One Response to Blooks – something for aspiring bloggers

  1. Pingback: Impressions Scholarcast » Blooker Prize Shortlist Available

