A new word for an information fragment

For some years I have been writing Ajax web applications that manipulate small pieces of information, typically text and images represented as HTML and/or XML. I have used several terms in my published papers with my two favourite being fraglets and I-grains, short for information-grains. Other words I have considered are seeds and gems.

Last week when reading the Australian Financial Review of all publications I came across the article Beware the Hidden Metadata published on 28 March 2006. Peter Moon, an IT lawyer from Melbourne, reminds readers that Microsoft Word stores valuable metadata such as author, company and date in the file properties in each document. Few people are aware of this data and fewer know how to change it. If a document is copied and reused these file properties persist and can show the original source of the document, sometimes embarassing the latest author.

More interesting to me is the word Peter used to describe the file properties metadata, ‘info-trinkets’ as in ‘Just look under File/Properties in any Word file to see what we mean. You’ll find all sorts of info-trinkets.’ This word has a good ring to it and I am tempted to adopt info-trinket in future publications.

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

2 Responses to A new word for an information fragment

  1. Peta says:

    These information fragments have also caught out some journal editors and I guess also some authors. Are blind reviews as blind as they could be?

    Microsoft Word’s Hidden Tags Reveal Identities of Once-Anonymous Peer Reviewers — The Chronicle of Higher Education

  2. Pingback: Impressions Scholarcast » Removal of Hidden Data from Office 2003 Documents

