Outline of Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist, MCTS

From 2006 the most suitable Microsoft certification for IT students is the MCTS (Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist). There are 5 MCTS variants:

The first two variants are relevant to our BIT students. There are two Microsoft exams to pass. Both Web Applications and Windows Application share Exam 70-536: TS: Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 – Application Development Foundation, the curriculum corresponds to about one Bond subject.

The Web Applications variant requires Exam 70-528: TS: Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 – Web-Based Client Development. The curriculum for this exam essentially splits into two parts: web application technologies and data access technologies, each part again approximating to one Bond subject.

The Windows Application variant requires Exam 70-526: TS: Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 – Windows-Based Client Development. The curriculum for this exam again splits into two parts: windows-based client development, and data access technologies (shared with the Web Applications variant). Once more each part approximates to one Bond subject.

Four Bond IT subjects using the appropriate Microsoft Official Curriculum plus additional Bond-sourced material could be offered as a Graduate Certificate:

  • INFT800 .NET Framework – Application Development Foundation (C#)
  • INFT801 Web-based Client Development (ASP.NET)
  • INFT802 Windows-based Client Development (AdvC#)
  • INFT803 .NET Data Access Techologies (ADO.NET)

Students obtaining such a Graduate Certificate could go on to take three Microsoft exams and succeed in obtaining two Microsoft certifications, MCTS: Web Applications and MCTS: Windows Applications.


About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: