Wikiversity – pushing the wiki boundaries

Today I stumbled across Wikiversity which takes the wiki concept to the edge, at least for now. It’s stated aim is ambitious:

Wikiversity is a community for the creation and use of free learning materials and activities. Wikiversity is a multidimensional social organization dedicated to learning, teaching, research and service.

I am a big fan of wikis and use them in several aspects of my work, keeping notes together in a dynamic fashion, supervising PhD students and maintaining simple information repositories. I use my own micro wiki tool, DotWikIE, several times a day as my home page of important links.

Can a whole university be based on wikis as Wikiversity is attempting? If it emulates wikipedia and attracts a sufficient number of teachers to provide the content, and learners willing to make use of it, maybe it can work. Reaching critical mass will be difficult.

Technorati tags:

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

Comments are closed.

