Windows Live Writer Beta 2 now works with WordPress

I use Word 2007 for most of the posts to this WordPress blog. However, I have always been a big fan of Windows Live Writer (WLW) that is now available as a much improved beta 2 which loads much faster and has automatic blog account setup. WLW also has additional blog features that Word does not support like trackbacks and tags.

However I found that WLW beta 2 would not post successfully to this blog but does work well with several other WordPressMU and WordPress.com blogs I use. After much experimentation I posted to the WLW forum and received a quick, helpful reply from the WLW team. They pointed me to a WordPress help page that lists several funnies with using WLW. Taking advice from that page I found by switching to the ISO-8859-1 character set works well with WLW.

Published with Windows Live Writer beta 2.

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

Comments are closed.

