A professional blogging engine

I agree wholeheartedly with Jon Udell in his recent post, ‘Professional Services for Professional Blogs‘. Since my serious blogging debut in January 2006 I have striven to use this blog as a professional diary recording various aspects of my professional, and very occasionally, my personal life as it affects my work.

In the beginning I hosted WordPress myself, and WordPress has excellent features as a blogging engine per se. Eventually I found having to upgrade every couple of months or so tedious and somewhat nerve-wracking. Would I lose my precious posts in the next upgrade?

Therefore, in September 2007 I leveraged the import/export feature of WordPress 2.3 to move my blog to wordpress.com. I was pleasantly surprised that all posts, comments, tags and categories were preserved, but sadly uploaded images and files had to be transferred and re-linked by hand. This was not too tedious for 250 posts, but in another 2-3 years it will become unthinkable.

As Jon highlights we need a better way. A professional blogging engine needs to consider trajectories of decades not just a few months to a year or two. Not only do we need an agreed standard format for storing and transporting complete blog post contents, we need mechanisms to structure post sequences into threads, reports, books and even larger conglomerations.  [I recently introduced the notion of a ‘blogknot’ which uses a very simple notation to provide forward/backward links between related blog posts. See my example for the Australian Blogoz conference.]

Like Jon and the others he mentions in his post we need an enterprising startup or existing supplier of blogging engines to meet the needs of professional bloggers.

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

Comments are closed.

