Students Reading Email on Smartphones

Lawrence Biemiller in his Wired Campus article comments how Brown University has upgraded its wireless network to make it friendlier to handheld devices:

The university installed Microsoft’s Exchange ActiveSync on its mail servers over the summer, which will let people handle their e-mail on handhelds. The university also made changes that will let handheld users gain access to the university’s secure network using virtual-private-network software…

I wonder whether students at my own institution would welcome such a facility?

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

2 Responses to Students Reading Email on Smartphones

  1. marksutherland says:

    Hi Michael – I have raised this with our staff who are currently testing the iPhone for student connections to the Bond network.
    Mark

  2. Michael says:

    Mark, this is a great development. I was very pleasantly surprised when I was able to connect my own iPhone to our Exchange server in just a few seconds. Excellent.

    Michael

