My Netbook Mark III

I have to admit that I use a ULPC in the guise of an Eee PC on an increasingly frequent basis, both at home and at work. Its portability is paramount. I am also pleased to see this growing laptop segment now being referred to as the netbook class, a much more descriptive and appealing name.

My Eee PC 900 was a great improvement on my 701, although I still keep the latter next to my viewing chair for quick web browsing while watching TV. In its favour the 900 has a useful 9” screen and more friendly XP. The 900’s two great downsides are the small size of the keys and the XP C: drive limited to 4GB. I switched XP to the 8GB SSD but it runs like a dog and my frustration level finally reached maximum.

I did some research at least and discarded netbooks by the likes of Acer, Lenovo, and HP. At first I was taken by the Dell Mini 9 as seen on the web,  and especially being able to handle it at a new Dell kiosk set up in our local mall, Pacific Fair. At $699 it is expensive and has only a 9” screen. The 10” Medion akoya netbook E1210 from Aldi looked promising at $599, especially as a few twitter friends had taken the plunge.

However, in the end it was a student in my class showing off his new Eee PC 1000H that finally decided I would stay loyal to Asus. Following my student’s lead I managed to acquire the 10” 80GB Eee 1000H for $550 from Clive Anthony’s at the Q Super Centre. This is the first post from my new netbook, or InfoWOE 3, as I refer to it for research purposes.

After a couple of days the Eee 1000 is humming along, faster than the 900 because of the Intel Atom and the swift hard drive. The keyboard allows fast touch typing but the half-size right Shift key, making way for the up arrow key, is somewhat of  a pain until you get used to it. Today the Eee 1000 easily achieved 4.5 hours of battery life and looks likely to achieve more will suitable tweaking of the power settings.

I am hoping this netbook will last longer than the 3-4 months average of previous two Eee machines. This new netbook segment is proving to be an exciting ride.

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

Comments are closed.

