TwitterLicious – from Twitter to Delicious

A few weeks ago I set an assignment called TwitterLicious as part of my new subject INFT345 Middleware. The idea of the TwitterLicious web application written in ASP.NET was to scan all the tweets if a given Twitter account name, identify all the tweets in that account containing URLs, and then create a Delicious link entry for each URL. This entry inserted special tags of choice and used the tweet text as the Delicious link entry description. Several excellent versions of TwitterLicious were submitted but CJ’s version was the best.

Given this background I was intrigued today to find via Read/WriteWeb the Web 2.0 TwitchBoard site which for its initial service appears to mirror TwitterLicious in its ‘save tweet links to Delicious’ feature:

TwitchBoard listens to your twitter account, and forwards messages on to other internet services based on what it hears. Our first service will automatically save any links you tweet to the del.icio.us bookmarking service.

TwitchBoard is very neatly linked to Twitter in that to sign up you simply follow @TwitchBoard from your own Twitter account. A direct message returns from TwitchBoard when you tweet links start to be processed. At the time of writing though the surge of interest in TwitchBoard has caused a waiting list to develop. I have still to receive my inclusion message and wait with bated breath. Having envisioned this very service myself I am obviously keen to participate.

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

2 Responses to TwitterLicious – from Twitter to Delicious

  1. TwitchBoard says:

    Hi Michael,

    I’m the creator of TwitchBoard, and I appreciate your coverage of the service. I specifically designed TwitchBoard to only require a Twitter follow to join the service. The vast majority of third-party Twitter services require you turn over your username and password, and I think it’s unwise to be spreading our logins across so many sites which may or may not be trustworthy. Until the Twitter API allows for a more robust authorization model, it takes some creative engineering to avoid requiring users to turn over sensitive information.

  2. Michael says:

    I agree totally. Just following TwitchBoard on Twitter also means one less URL to remember.

