20 Years at Bond Today

I enter just a short note that 20 years today I started work at Bond Uni. It is customary to expand on the occasion but I am not in a reflective frame of mind in this post-festive time. For the moment I simply recall the initial euphoria and community spirit when money was no object, the dark days of Bond in receivership, near-fail and the threat of moving to Robina Town Centre, the impecunious years of long hours with no reward before Bond became truly independent, and then the current expansionary period. The years have gone quickly but I am left feeling ambivalent about whether for me these years might have been better spent on other endeavours. Certainly the Gold Coast itself has been a great place to live although the population explosion is starting to take its toll on our infrastructure.

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

4 Responses to 20 Years at Bond Today

  1. Michael says:

    Congratulations!

    I’m certainly glad you kept your chin up and stuck with it… a sentiment that I’m sure is echoed amongst the majority of your students, both past and present.

    Must be time for some long service leave?!

  2. Michael says:

    Michael, many thanks for the kind thoughts. Yes, about to start negotiations on my second period of long service leave!

  3. Chales says:

    I will have been on the Gold Coast for 10 years come October. Having you here has really ment a lot to me personally and professionally.

  4. Michael says:

    Thanks for the kind words, Charles, much appreciated.

