Barcamp Brisbane III Report

I spent a hyperactive day at the East Brisbane Bowls Club with about 60 others at Barcamp Brisbane III, a joint Barcamp Brisbane/Gold Coast meeting. Because I spent the last couple of nights at an apartment in Dockside just down river I had the honour of being first to arrive. It was good to see a strong signal for my 3 wireless broadband and was able to keep the CoverItLive live blog running through the day on the trusty Eee PC 1000 (photo courtesy of Steve Dalton).

image

I gave a talk about some of my favourite cloud applications to an audience of 30 or so just after the opening speed networking session where we spoke to about 6 people previously unknown to us switching every minute.

Past and present Bond students were there in Michael Battle, Ben Novakovic and Matt Carter. There were also some fellow past DSTC colleagues in Paul King and Bob Brown. I was kept extremely busy through the day reminiscing as well as discovering a considerable amount of new stuff.

It was good to see social media coming through strongly with talks from Des Walsh, Anthony Dever and Ben Grubb with detailed reporting by Hannah Suarez.

The day was most fascinating and extremely tiring. I can’t wait for the next one later in the year.

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

Comments are closed.

