The Concept of Book Review Curation

A post of mine in April, A Future Scenario for Higher Education, DIY U, today elicited an intriguing response from Jon Becker with a link to further information. Jon wrote:

I’m “curating” a review of the book for Alec Couros’s journal in education. Please consider contributing!

The idea of book review curation sounded novel and full of promise. Another useful side effect for me was a link to the in education open access journal which was new to me.

Following the link to Jon’s blog he explains further his argument to the journal’s editor, Alex Couros (@coursoa):

…what if I were to invite others to contribute text, ideas, thoughts, artifacts, etc. and my role was to curate all that? I’d take the responsibility of starting the article/review and ultimately make all the decisions about what gets included and how it all gets arranged (hence, the “curation” term).

Jon is obviously a great Web 2.0 guy and immediately shows how the shared curation will happen in an effortless and seamless way, use a Google doc for shared editing.  With the document link provided contributions are very simply delineated with the easy instructions:

If you’d like to contribute, please scroll to the bottom of the document and add your name to the table and indicate the color of the text you’ll be using. All contributors will be listed as such in the final published article/review.

I really like this approach and even before Jon mentioned him I already had the feeling that the thinking of George Veletsianos (@veletsianos) was behind the discussion. [See Open Scholars Find Each Other Via Online Presence].

My own copy of DIY U only arrived a few days ago, and with the start of a new teaching semester time will press in on me. Nevertheless I intend to contribute to the review if I can. After all this surely is the way peer review will emerge in the future.

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

Comments are closed.

