RIP Michael Gerrard Stout, RideGC in his Honour

It was only today, 6 months after the event, that I learned of the sad passing of Mike Stout (of Mikes Bikes) on 11 December 2011. More than 10 years ago he sold me the first of a couple of bikes that restarted my cycling activity after 45 years, and has added to my enjoyment and general wellbeing ever since.

I owe a lot to Mike and will be happy to join the RideGC event in his honour on 24 June 2012 starting at Pizzey Park with proceeds going to the Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia. The 25 km Community Challenge will be enough for me.

As it happens I also taught Mike’s son Mark in a couple of information technology subjects. Mark is a Bond alumnus, and pictured to Mike’s right in the photo which is taken from the FIXIEGC blog.

About Michael Rees
Academic in IT interested in Web 2.0 and social media

Comments are closed.

